News and analysis
TurboTenant acquired TenantCloud: what TenantCloud users should know
Quick answer
TurboTenant acquired TenantCloud in August 2026, according to ColoradoBiz, which reported the deal on August 21. Terms were not disclosed, and neither company has announced changes to TenantCloud plans, prices, or accounts. TenantCloud still sells its plans as of October 2026. The most important step for TenantCloud users is to export a full copy of their data to Excel now, while the full export is available.
What happened
On August 21, 2026, ColoradoBiz reported that TurboTenant, based in Fort Collins, Colorado, acquired TenantCloud. The price and terms were not disclosed. TenantCloud, founded in 2016, sells software for rent collection, leasing, maintenance, and accounting to landlords and small property managers.
TurboTenant says it serves more than 1 million landlords. According to ColoradoBiz, the combined company plans to serve independent landlords with listings, screening, leasing, rent collection, maintenance, accounting, tenant placement, and managed services. The deal follows TurboTenant's purchases of REI Hub and Azibo.
As of October 2026, TenantCloud's website does not mention TurboTenant. It still offers a 14-day free trial and its Starter, Growth, Pro, and Business plans.
What it means for TenantCloud users
Nothing has changed in public yet. The open question is whether TurboTenant keeps TenantCloud as a separate product or moves users onto TurboTenant.
The closest precedent is Azibo. TurboTenant bought Azibo in May 2025, then shut down the Azibo platform and moved eligible accounts. TurboTenant says some Azibo data, including documents and messages, did not move. That does not mean the same will happen to TenantCloud. It does mean you should prepare.
TenantCloud | TurboTenant | |
|---|---|---|
Price model | Flat monthly, with a lease cap per plan | Free plan, plus paid plans priced per year by unit count |
Entry price | $15 per month billed annually (Starter, 10 leases) | $0 (Free) |
Paid plans | Growth $29.17 per month billed annually (30 leases); Pro $50 per month billed annually (60 leases); Business from $100 per month | Essentials from $149 per year; Pro from $199 per year (1 to 10 units) |
Tenant payment fee | $1.95 (Starter), $1.75 (Growth), $1.50 (Pro) per transaction | ACH $2 for renters of Free-plan landlords, free for Pro; card 3.49% |
Data export | Full export to Excel, desktop only | CSV of charges and deposits, rent roll, tax packet |
All prices are as of October 2026.
Contract terms. TenantCloud sells month-to-month and annual prepaid plans. If you prepaid a year, ask what happens to the unused months if the product changes.
Pricing at renewal. No price change is announced. TurboTenant uses a different model: a free core plan plus fees that renters pay. We could not confirm any plan to move TenantCloud users to that model.
Data access and export. TenantCloud documents a full export of transactions, leases, contacts, and maintenance to Excel, from desktop only. TenantCloud itself advises users to export before they cancel.
Accounting. Capterra reviewers already name accounting and financial reporting as TenantCloud's weakest area. TurboTenant puts accounting on its Pro plan. If you manage for owners, check owner statements and bank reconciliation closely in any future product.
Support. Capterra reviewers describe TenantCloud support as responsive. Some TurboTenant reviewers say live support is hard to reach.
What to do now
Find your renewal date and billing cycle in your TenantCloud account settings. Note whether you prepaid for a year.
From a desktop, export all data to Excel: transactions, leases, contacts, and maintenance.
Save each of these separately: the rent roll, every tenant ledger, owner balances if you manage for others, security deposit balances, and lease documents and photos.
Download your tax reports for 2025 and for 2026 to date. If you sync with QuickBooks Online, confirm the sync is current.
Ask TenantCloud support these questions in writing:
Will TenantCloud stay a separate product, and for how long?
Will my plan price or my tenants' transaction fees change?
If accounts move to TurboTenant, which data moves and which does not?
How much notice will I get before any change?
Store the written answers with your export.
Where to go next
If TenantCloud still works for you, you can stay and watch for notices. If you want to compare, these options fit TenantCloud's users as of October 2026.
Option | Best for | Starting price (as of October 2026) | Links |
|---|---|---|---|
TurboTenant | Self-managing landlords who want free core tools from TenantCloud's new owner | $0; Essentials from $149 per year | Review, pricing |
RentRedi | Landlords who want one flat price for unlimited units | $12 per month billed annually | Review, pricing |
Avail | DIY landlords who want free listing, screening, and rent tools | $0 per unit; Unlimited Plus $9 per unit per month | Review, pricing |
Baselane | Landlords who want free banking with rent collection and bookkeeping | $0; Smart $20 per month on an annual plan | Review, pricing |
DoorLoop | Growing property managers who want an all-in-one system | $2.50 per unit per month, $199 minimum | |
Darcy | Property managers who manage for owners and need trust accounting and AI agents | $2 per unit per month | Review, switch guide |
Small self-managing landlords should start with the free or low-cost tools. TurboTenant is free and is now the parent company, so it is the path with the least change if a migration comes. RentRedi charges one flat price for unlimited units. Avail charges $0 per unit on its base plan. Baselane combines free banking with rent collection and bookkeeping.
Property managers who manage for owners have different needs. A full system such as DoorLoop fits this group, and so does Darcy. It runs leasing, maintenance, and accounting, with trust accounts, owner statements and distributions, and 1099s, for $2 per unit per month. For a landlord with 10 units, a free tool costs less. Darcy works from your TenantCloud exports, and the team reviews a sample export before it quotes a plan.
See the switch guide from TenantCloud, all TenantCloud alternatives, or book a demo.
Questions, answered
Who bought TenantCloud?
TurboTenant bought TenantCloud. ColoradoBiz reported the deal on August 21, 2026. The price and terms were not disclosed.
Is TenantCloud shutting down?
No shutdown has been announced. As of October 2026, TenantCloud still sells its plans and offers a free trial. TurboTenant shut down Azibo after it bought that company in 2025, so keep a current export as a precaution.
Will TenantCloud prices go up?
Neither company has announced price changes. TenantCloud's Starter plan costs $15 per month billed annually as of October 2026. Ask support in writing whether your plan price or tenant fees will change.
How do I export my TenantCloud data?
TenantCloud lets you export all data, or a selection of transactions, leases, contacts, and maintenance, as an Excel file. The export works on desktop only. Export before you cancel or change plans.
Sources and method
We read each vendor’s own pricing and product pages, then review sites and news. Prices and features change, so confirm details with the vendor before you buy.
See Darcy run on a portfolio like yours
Tell us how many units you manage and which system you use today. We’ll show you which parts of your team’s week Darcy can take on.